Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Science in Education (MSE) in Secondary Education: English Language Arts 6-12



Committee Chair



The entire body or Flannery O'Connor's published fiction can be found in two volumes, One, a Signet paperback called Three by Flannery O'Connor, contains her two novels and first short story collection, The other is the posthumous volume of short stories, Everything that Rises Must Converge. Miss O'Connor's work has already been subjected to much critical analysis and will undoubtedly be subjected to a great deal more before there is substantial agreement on just what it is that she is saying. The purpose of this study is to consider her attitude toward her art; to examine her philosophy as a Christian writer; to analyze her use of allegory and symbolism, principally in her novels; and to compare briefly her work to that of one other modern author, Nathanael West, and one traditional author, Nathaniel Hawthorne.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.