

# Jacksonville State University JSU Digital Commons

Committee Charge & Membership Roster

Safety Committee

6-24-2022

## 2022 Charter & Membership Roster | Safety Committee

Natalia Esparragoza

Jacksonville State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.jsu.edu/unicom\_safetyov

#### **Recommended Citation**

Esparragoza, Natalia, "2022 Charter & Membership Roster | Safety Committee" (2022). *Committee Charge & Membership Roster*. 2.

https://digitalcommons.jsu.edu/unicom\_safetyov/2

This Other [open access] is brought to you for free and open access by the Safety Committee at JSU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Committee Charge & Membership Roster by an authorized administrator of JSU Digital Commons. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@jsu.edu.



## **University Safety Committee Charter**

Charter	As the Chief Executive Officer, the University President has the responsibility for ensuring the safety of students, faculty, staff, and visitors of Jacksonville State University (JSU). To accomplish this the President has designated a Chief Safety Officer and has established the University Safety Committee.  The University Safety Committee (USC) shall serve as the University's Chief Safety Officer and as an ex-officio member of the University Safety Committee. The University Safety Committee (USC) shall assist the President of Jacksonville State University (JSU) in carrying out the responsibility for ensuring the safety of students, faculty, staff, and visitors of JSU and ensuring the university is in compliance with all state and federal regulations regarding safety, health and environmental protection.  Every individual involved with the University, at any level, has the responsibility to help create a safe campus environments.	
Objectives	The University Safety Committee shall:  1. Develop and recommend University policy relating to safety matters.  2. Support campuses in implementing various safety and environmental health programs.  3. Provide the President with information on safety and environmental health activities.  4. Develop and maintain information on safety and environmental health as an educational resource for JSU.  5. Act as a forum for discussing campuses hazards and accident reviews.	
Key Performance Indicators	<ul> <li>Update the current Safety and Environmental Health Program.</li> <li>Develop, implement, and update a Comprehensive Safety Manual.</li> <li>Develop departmental checklists, Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), and guidelines.</li> <li>Implement departmental Safety Self Assessments.</li> <li>Indicate opportunities for continuous improvement.</li> </ul>	
<b>Meeting Cadence</b>	The University Safety Committee shall meet monthly. Additional meetings may be called when necessary.	
Scope	The scope of the University Safety Committee will include, but not be limited to, the following areas:  • Compliance with Federal and State Regulations  • Hazard Identification and Mitigation  • Reduction of Accidents and Near-Accidents	
Committee Leadership	To be appointed by the Committee:	

Last updated: 06/24/2022



Stakeholders	Provost and SVP of Academic Affairs	
Stakeholders	• SVP of Finance and Administration	
	• VP of University Advancement	
	• VP of Student Affairs	
	VP of Information Technology	
	VP of Enrollment Management	
	Athletic Director	
	Director of Human Resources	
University Safety	Members of the University Safety Committee shall be nominated by their Deans,	
Committee	Department Chairs, and/or Supervisors as applicable.	
Members	The members shall be from the following University units:	
	a Department of Bublic Sefety	
	• Department of Public Safety • College of Science and Mathematics (2 representatives)	
	• College of Science and Mathematics (2 representatives)	
	• College of Arts and Humanities	
	• College of Business and Industry	
	College of Health Professions and Wellness	
	College of Human Services and Social Sciences	
	College of Education and Professional Services	
	Division of Student Affairs	
	Division of Information Technology	
	Division of Enrollment Management	
	Division of University Advancement	
	• Division of Athletics	
	Division of Finance and Administration	
	*See Appendix A for a list current list of members	
<b>High Level Tactics</b>	Establish Expectations	
	Develop Standards and Policies	
	Measure Performance	
	Mitigate Risks	
	Manage Exceptions	
	Promote Program	

Last updated: 06/24/2022



## Appendix A

### Fall 2021- Summer 2022

## Leadership:

- Chair: Chief Michael Barton / Elizabeth Morrow Public Safety
- Vice-Chair: David Thompson / Dusty Cowan Capital Planning and Facilities
- Secretary: Natalia Esparragoza CBI / Center for Manufacturing Support (CMS)

## Advisor:

- University Safety Manager
- Skip Clark Chief Internal Auditor
- Mr. Greg Harley University Counsel

### Roster:

Unit	Representative
University Police Department	Elizabeth Morrow/Michael Barton
Capital Planning & Facilities	Dusty Cowan/David Thompson
Enrollment Management	Justin Parker
Dean of Students/SGA	VP of SGA
Housing & Residence Life	Brooke Lyon/Ellis Collins
College of Arts and Humanities	John Davis/Randy Blades
College of Business and Industry (CBI)	Natalia Esparragoza
College of Education and Professional Services	Brandy Russell
College of Health Professions and Wellness	South complex: Dr. Rachel Wooten
	Kennamer/Stephenson: Dr. Gregor Kay
College of Science & Mathematics	Bernice George and Megan Meade
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences	Travis Easterling
University Library	John-Bauer Graham
Disability Resources	Sean Creech
University Advancement	Brody Jones
Athletics	Avery Davis
Information Technology	Matthew Chumley
Little River Canyon	Pete Conroy
McClellan	Andy Green
HR Director	Allison Casey

Last updated: 06/24/2022